top of page

Empty Small Talks

"Hey~ How's your day?"

"Hey~ How's it going~"

"What're you up to?"

"Have you eaten?"

Typical small talks conversation starters. Sounds like you're interested to talk to me, like you wanna know about my day, but boom after a few texts you stop replying me, blue-ticking me.

It's so sweet of you to drop a message, but here's a note, if you're not genuinely interested, how about no?

I'm not a person to waste time small talking to people. If I have no interest in talking to someone, I won't. Whether they engaged it or not.

3 kinds of situation when someone engaged a conversation with me,

1. Not interested at all, tries to end it as soon as possible or do not respond at all. Rude, yes you can call me that, but I do not want to waste either of our time, giving you false hope.


2. Not interested at first but tries to continue conversation cause I feel neutral.


3. Glad that the person actually started a conversation with me cause I really wanna talk to this person but had trouble to or afraid that it is not a mutual feeling.

So if you talked to me, I would actually expect that you want to talk. Because this is not like we just met on the streets or in the canteen where we just exchanged a few words, you actually scrolled on your contacts and looked at my name and sent me a message.

I guess it is a normal thing to do nowadays, heck I bet it is not just in the movies or dramas where some people just sent different or maybe even same messages to a few contacts at once, seeing who will reply just to pass time...

Look, I respect that that is your way for pass time but leave me out of it please. Simply, it is hurtful when you're the one I want to talk to but never dared to and when you lighted up my hope seeing your name on the notification, ending up with you blue-ticking my messages and not replying in the end.

bottom of page